Prizes & Awards

ISER offers four International Prizes (The Endre A. Balazs Prize, The Ernst H. Bárány Prize, The Paul Kayser International Award in Retina Research, The Ludwig von Sallmann Prize) that are presented in even-numbered years at the Biennial Meeting of the Society for Eye Research. Nominations are accepted from ISER members who may nominate individuals from the eye and vision research community at large.

ISER's 2020 award nomination cycle is now closed.

The Endre A. Balazs Prize

The Council of ISER awards an International Prize to honor a distinguished scientist whose outstanding contributions provide significant progress in the field of experimental eye research. This prize was named the Endre A. Balazs Prize to honor Endre A. Balazs for his distinguished work in eye research and his contributions to the organization of the International Society for Eye Research. The Endre A. Balazs Prize is awarded at every Biennial Meeting of the Society for Eye Research.

2020 Vadim Arshafsky
2018 Paul Kaufman
2016 Reza Dana
2014 Patricia A. D'Amore
2012 Gerard A. Lutty
2010 Joseph C. Besharse
2008 Ilene K. Gipson
2006 King-Wai Yau
2004 Neville Osborne
2002 Thomas Mittag
2000 Nicolas G. Bazan
1998 Carlos Belmonte
1996 Elke Lütjen-Drecoll
1994 Joe G. Hollyfield
1992 Jose A. Zadunaisky
1990 Anders Bill
1988 Laszlo Bito
1986 James Rae
1984 Hans Bloemendal

The Ernst H. Bárány Prize

The Council of ISER awards an International Prize in honor of Professor Ernst H. Bárány, for his distinguished work in the field of ocular pharmacology. This award is presented to a distinguished scientist who has made outstanding contributions in research that increases our understanding of ocular pharmacology directly related to or applicable to glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, macular degeneration, or related retinal diseases. The Ernst H. Bárány Prize is awarded at each Biennial Meeting of the Society of Eye Research.

2020 Naj Sharif
2018Bärbel Rohrer
2016Lloyd P. Aiello
2014 Thomas Yorio
2012 Peter F. Kador
2010 Martin Wax
2008 Anthony P. Adamis
2006 Paul Kaufman
2004 Elke Lütjen-Drecoll
2002 Johan Stjernschantz

The Ludwig von Sallmann Prize

Ludwig von Sallmann was a distinguished international ophthalmologist and ophthalmic investigator who served on the staffs of Vienna, Peking and Columbia Universities and the Ophthalmology Branch of the former National Institute of Neurological Diseases and Blindness at the National Institutes of Health. His wife, Henrietta von Sallmann, established a trust fund to award, in his memory, a cash prize every two years to an individual who has distinguished himself or herself by making a significant contribution to vision research and ophthalmology.

2020Jay Neitz and Maureen Neitz
2018Rando Allikmets
2016Rosalie K. Crouch
2014Christine A. Curcio
2012Eberhart Zrenner
2010Robert S. Molday
2008Samuel Miao-Sin Wu
2006Eliot Berson
2004Jonathan Stone
2002Steven K. Fisher
2000Helga E. Kolb
1998Denis A. Baylor
1996David M. Maurice
1994Sohan Singh Hayreh
1992John E. Dowling
1990Richard F. Brubaker
1988Daniel Albert
1986Gerald Westheimer
1984Tsuneo Tomita
1982Christina Enroth-Cugell

The Retina Research Foundation's Paul Kayser International Award in Retina Research

The Council of ISER accepted a proposal from the Retina Research Foundation (RRF), Houston, Texas, to present the Foundation's Paul Kayser International Award in Retina Research at ISER's biennial congresses beginning in 1986. Nominees for and recipients of the award are selected by Foundation officials interacting with a committee appointed by the ISER Council.

Founded in 1969, Retina Research Foundation is a publicly supported, tax-exempt charitable organization that conducts an ongoing program of basic vision science research devoted to the retina and retinal diseases.

The Paul Kayser International Award in Retina Research was created by the Directors of Retina Research Foundation and endowed by the Trustees of The Kayser Foundation to honor and perpetuate the memory of long-time friend and dedicated benefactor of RRF, Paul Kayser. Through this award both organizations are demonstrating the conviction they shared with Mr. Kayser that blindness caused by retinal disease is a global concern and must be addressed accordingly. It is thus the purpose of this award to foster greater awareness of the need for intensive study of the retina, its role in the visual process, and the retinal diseases that threaten and/or destroy eyesight by recognizing outstanding achievement and sustaining meritorious scientific investigations worldwide.

The Paul Kayser International Award in Retina Research is a U.S. $50,000 award that comprises a $5,000 personal honorarium for the recipient(s) and a $45,000 research grant awarded to his/her/their research institution to support the research for which the award was received.

2020Samuel Wu
2018Krzysztof Palczewski
2016King-Wai Yau
2012Robert E. Marc
2012Robert E. Anderson
2010Frank S. Werblin
2008John E. Dowling
2006Dean Bok
2004The research consortium composed of Gregory Ackland , Gustavo Aguirre, Jean Bennett, William Hauswirth, Samuel Jacobson and Albert Maguire
2002Dennis M. Dacey
2000Debora B. Farber
1998Anita E. Hendrickson
1996Akimichi Kaneko
1994Alan C. Bird
1992Alan M. Laties
1990Berndt Ehinger and Neville Osborne
1988Dennis Baylor (1988)
1986Shom S. Bhattacharya and Alan F. Wright

Travel Fellowships

The ISER Travel Fellowship program is funded through a variety of sources to support the participation of young scientists at each biennial meeting of the International Society for Eye Research. The ISER Membership Committee reviews and ranks applications, and selects the final travel fellowship recipients, based on established criteria.

ISER Travel Fellowships are intended to assist in defraying the travel costs of Fellowship recipients who attend the Biennial Meeting. This will include waiver of registration fees as well as partial payment of air fare; the latter will be based upon average, round-trip coach air fare from the Fellowship recipient's geographical region to the airport most proximal to the meeting city. Travel Fellowships will be paid by check in U.S. dollars; recipients are responsible for converting these payments to the currency of their choice.

International Society for Eye Research
Travel Fellowship Criteria

Criteria for Candidates

  • Must be a current or new applicant (dues paid) ISER "Young Investigator" member
  • Must be a symposium speaker or the first author of a poster
  • Meets the definition of a Young Investigator (See Bylaws in Governance section of web site)
  • If a predoctoral or postdoctoral (PhD, MD/PhD, OD/PhD, or equivalent) student, clinical resident, or clinical fellow, must have been engaged in vision/eye research for at least 2 years
  • May not be a previous ISER Travel Fellowship awardee
  • May not be a corporate employee
Other Criteria
  • Only one (1) travel fellowship awardee per laboratory
  • Limit two (2) awardees per department or institute
  • Awards are based primarily upon scientific merit of submitted abstract; secondary consideration is given to geographic origin of candidate in an effort to achieve international representation
  • Awardees are expected to attend or participate in the entire International Congress of Eye Research program
  • A selection committee consisting of the ISER Membership Committee and 1 ISER Council member, appointed by the President of ISER, reviews the applications and selects the Travel Fellowship awardees based on the criteria listed above